PENNSPORT

Pennsport is bound by Fourth Street to the Delaware River, Washington to Snyder Avenues. The Queen Village neighborhood is to the north and Whitman is to the south. Even though some homes date back to the 18th century, Pennsport was mostly developed during the Colonial period and is considered one of the oldest sections of South Philadelphia.

Jefferson Square Park, 3rd and Federal Streets, is an historic landmark. Originally constructed in early 19th century, it had star-like patterned walkways. During the Civil War, it was renamed Camp Jefferson and was deeded to the Union Army for use as an encampment site and parade grounds.  The neighborhood later became the city’s manufacturing sector. It now houses a host of retail centers including Pier 70 and Columbus Commons along Columbus Boulevard.

The first official Mummers’ Parade in 1901 brought something unique to the community. String bands joined marchers a year later. A century later, Mummer mania still grips the area and many of the clubs are headquartered in the area. The New Year’s Parade returned to South Broad, but the “Two Street” march never left.

The dominant façade in the neighborhood is red brick. Colonial- and Federal-style homes can be found and formstone finishes, popular in the 1950s and ’60s, remain on many properties. Experts believe some homes between Washington Avenue and Manton Street as well as a few on the 100 block of Alter Street date to the early 1700s, but their construction dates have not been confirmed.